Managers of NIA MIMAROPA, Palawan IMO Strengthen Collaboration with MBBRIS IA through the conduct of SMC meeting

Narra, Palawan  - National Irrigation Administration (NIA) MIMAROPA Regional Manager Ronilio M. Cervantes and Palawan Irrigation Management Office (IMO) Division Manager Armando L. Flores strengthened the partnership with the Irrigators Associations (IAs) of Malatgao Batang-Batang River Irrigation System (MBBRIS) through the conduct of the System Management Committee (SMC) meeting on August 31, 2023 held at Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Palawan 2nd District convention hall in Narra town.

This meeting aims to facilitate in-depth discussions on a range of topics including the status of CY 2023 irrigation projects and proposed CY 2024 projects at MBBRIS, current state of condonation, institutional matters, operation and maintenance performance, cropping calendar, water delivery, and updates on the Farmland Geographic Information System (FGIS). Another purpose is to promote synergy among lined agencies to maximize resources and expertise.

During this assembly, officials and representatives from the Department of Agriculture (DA) Municipal Agriculture Office (MAO) of Narra and Aborlan, Palawan 2nd District DPWH, and the Bureau of Soils and Water Management shared their respective programs and empowered IAs with valuable knowledge and access to services that can improve their quality of life.

Additionally, on behalf of 2nd District Engr. Noel Fuentebella, Engr. Zosimo Villarosa presented the proposed CY 2024 Convergence Program between DPWH and Palawan IMO. Aligned with these initiatives are the construction of a drainage canal and slope protection at Mambalot CIS in Brooke’s Point under flood control and the construction of the Batang-Batang RIS Lateral E service road in Brgy. Malinao, Narra, as part of the Katubigan – Kalsada Tungo sa Patubigan.

This event was also attended by Narra Acting Municipal Mayor Hon. Marcelino Calso Jr., Aborlan Sangguniang Bayan (SB) Member Committee on Agriculture Renato Alabado, Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member Hon. Ariston D. Arzaga, Malatgao RIS Federation President Jibsam Andres, Batang-Batang Federation Pres. Loreto Briones, IA leaders from MBBRIS, and Palawan IMO staff from the Institutional Unit, Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Section, and Engineering Unit.